Throwback Thursday: A Glimpse of Tacloban

Some days, when you’re swamped with books and journals to read and papers to write, you wonder what all this work is for. Doesn’t help either, when you feel like crap and other emotions such as anger and disappointment pop out of nowhere like woodwork. Giving up even seem like a decent enough options.

But there are stories, like those of Tacloban, that forces you to see that your life in reality, is fine. Last month, my ma went home to the Philippines to attend her 35th nursing reunion, the first one she’s attended since she graduated decades ago. Because our church and school have raised a generous sum for the Haiyan victims, she felt the need to visit the area where the funds will go to and meet the Philippine Navigators’ staff and volunteers coordinating the relief and rehabilitation.

I wasn’t there, but seeing these pictures, knowing that my own mother and uncle took them and experienced first hand what the town has become, I can’t help but ache for these people. I’m reminded that whatever I’m troubled with right now, it’s nowhere close to their pain. I know my problems will be over soon, but for these people, it’s been months since the devastation, but they are most likely never going get back all they lost. There are still months, maybe years until they can fully get back on their feet again, yet they are standing strong.  I’m not going to discount my troubles as trivial, but I am going stand strong. If these men, women, and children can survive and persevere despite the destruction, I can be inspired to move forward.

 

On the road towards Tacloban

On the road towards Tacloban

Signs of life starting again... Locals are slowly starting to grow crops...

Signs of life starting again… Locals are slowly starting to grow crops…

A little boy with his small container waiting in line for porridge

A little boy with his small container waiting in line for porridge

DSCF4459 DSCF4465

Despite all these time, people are still lining up for free porridge offered by the project...

Despite all these time, people are still lining up for free porridge offered by the project…

Evidence of the disaster is still rampant

Evidence of the disaster is still rampant

DSCF4474

Even though she was there for less than 24 hours, my ma felt really blessed to be able to help in what little way she can

Even though she was there for less than 24 hours, my ma felt really blessed to be able to help in what little way she can

DSCF4478 DSCF4483 DSCF4486 DSCF4493

The staff here is visiting a family's make-shift home...

The staff here is visiting a family’s make-shift home…

 

While my ma already posted these pictures on her FB, I figured I’ll re-post them here. I doubt I can do much for these survivors. All I can do however, is to pray for them and yes, spread the word. Media may have forgotten about them now for a better story, but there are still many who remember. So here’s to you! May you continue to remember the Haiyan victims and pray for their welfare and their journey.

Thank you

 

Leave a Reply

