The Lasagna Files

It all started a couple of days ago, when I was doing lunch duty at my alma mater, subbing for the first grade teacher. I couldn’t help myself from smelling the waif of the aromatic blend of cheese, tomatoes, herbs, and pasta. So for the next two days, I thought of nothing else, but imagine creating my own yumminy-goodness.

Last night, that dream slowly became a reality when we stopped by the wet market near the Ping River.

Fresh and Cheap!!! As a dedicated carnivore, I've never felt so excited over vegetables before!

Fresh and Cheap!!! As a dedicated carnivore, I’ve never felt so excited over vegetables before!

For less than US $3 , I was superbly happy to have bought all my ingredients (minus the meat, cheese, and  pasta). I woke up this morning with these bright red tomatoes greeting my day.

Aren't they gorgeous!???

Aren’t they gorgeous!???

So I was off, cutting and chopping and slicing and blending, mixing and stirring and seasoning and tasting! Oh what fun!

Of course, I had to bake this baby for half an hour. During that time, I read the first chapter of Airborn by Kenneth Oppel, and I must say, it was quite an interesting read.

However, when the timer went off…

VOILA!!!! Rich and cheesy on a pan!

VOILA!!!! Rich and cheesy on a pan!

So we had a wonderful lunch, my munchkins and I! I must say, I believe we cleaned out two-thirds of the Pyrex pan. I’ve never been so proud of my girls! 🙂 They’re much too underweight for my taste.

20130315_130428My next goal is homemade pizza! Let’s see if we can get that done sometime soon now, shall we?

🙂

Leave a Reply

