Today’s Food Therapy

Double Chocolate Fudge Cupcake topped with Peanut Butter!

Yes, I said “topped with peanut butter!” Not peanut butter frosting or drizzle or glaze, just pure, smooth and gooey peanut butter!

If I haven’t said it enough, for those who don’t know: I hate cake! I hate those “moist,” “fluffy,” and “bland” stuff that’s bombarded with that sugar-induced cream called the “frosting.” It’s like a wanna-be dessert of sorts! Except for cheesecake, it is normally a pain for me to eat cake! I even hate cakey-brownies. (Shocking, I know!)

However, a few months ago, I found a brownie recipe that though it was cakey, it was also fudgy! After a bit of this and that, I’ve found my “Chocolate Fudge Cake” recipe. Since then, I’ve been on a quest to mix and match flavors to go with this heavenly recipe.

So far, I’ve concocted a Banana Chocolate Fudge Cake, a Coconut Chocolate Fudge Cake, and even quite a few Cookies-N-Cream Chocolate Fudge Cakes! And I must say, I was quite proud of them!

So today I’ve decided to whip out the Peanut Butter and materialize a decent frosting. Laziness won out on the last minute however, and I decided to spread the peanut butter on top of the cupcakes! It worked! It was good!

After a busy day of revising my research paper, (playing guitar, pinning, and stumbling), I felt that I was in need of a break. Instead of watching TV, I went to the kitchen. For me, playing around with food (especially dessert) gives me a sense of accomplishment and productivity! With that, I was quite proud of myself! Despite my significant progress in my paper, I was more satisfied with myself knowing that I’ve done something that can be eaten and shared by the family.

I guess therapy isn’t only about giving one a sense of accomplishment, but a sense of warmth, home and community, as well!

🙂

3 thoughts on “Today’s Food Therapy

  1. Pingback: A Chocolate Fast… « Grace Wonders Deep and Shallow

Leave a Reply

