Morning in the Kitchen

I had such great fun doing this and that in the kitchen yesterday! When I started off, I had a vague idea as to what I wanted to do, but I wasn’t exactly sure whether or not I could pull it off.

First on my list was BREAD! As you saw a few days ago, I pulled off baking me some bread and it was good! I wanted to see and prove to myself that it wasn’t a fluke and that I was a fairly capable bread-baking girl and wanted to do it again! So I rolled out my ingredients and made:

Baguettes ❤

Burger Buns 🙂

In which I matched with some pork burger patties seasoned salt, black pepper, cayenne, cumin, rosemary and maybe a dash of Annatto (which for the life of me, I couldn’t figure out what flavor it was for).

Grilled and topped with Cheese Singles

I can now officially say that I have whipped up a real (or two) home-made cheeseburgers!!!!

Okay, so the chips don’t count, but I did not feel like deep frying some potatoes just for a side. Though I guess that would be the next of my list of things to do! And I guess, I would have to start planting tomatoes, lettuce and onions too! Hmmmm…. I wonder if I could bargain for some at the university farm. (My university is mainly focused on agriculture and most of their products are sold locally.)

Now for dessert… I have two really good brownie recipes and a killer recipe for Chocolate Ganache Cake. In my wanna-be-entrepreneur mode, I’ve designated brownie recipe 1 as my official brownie recipe. I didn’t want to just throw away recipe 2. Now my Chocolate Ganache Cake recipe is great in richness and flavor, but it’s really flimsy and hard to assemble the layers. The texture of that cake is somewhat fudgy (which is what I LOVE!!!), so I figured, what if I substitute brownie recipe 2 in instead of the cake? 🙂 It’s the one that agitatingly borders between cakey and fudgey brownies anyway, so I was like, why not!? One day… Some day… That was a year or two ago…

Yesterday however, became the day!!! And I got:

Licked clean (or at least almost) during the BBQ at school this afternoon…

 

Pretty!

And of course, for the left over batter (cuz I was afraid it would spill over from the pan), I poured them on mugs and microwaved it for a minute or two and got something rich and heavenly!

Okay, so it’s not the prettiest thing, but OMG!!!

Topped it with Chocolate Chip Vanilla Ice Cream
🙂

So yes, I pulled it off! It was a wonderfully productive morning and my adorable side-kick and I were ridiculously full by the afternoon’s time! 🙂 I say, I should do that again sometime soon… Question is, what to make next???

^_^

Suggestions, anyone?

🙂

 

Leave a Reply

