The Stairwell

On a stairwell,

With two ways to go.

It’s either up or down

There’s no middle ground.

Do I go back

To the bottom of the stairs?

To familiarity and comfort

To things I know that’s there…

Or should I go up

This steep climb?

To a world of wonders

New discoveries of matter and time…

To going down,

The flow is smooth

To heading up,

It’s about all things new…

Where should I go?

Because here is where I stand

In the middle of the stairwell

The middle of life

To go up or down

To move forward or stay rooted

Are the questions I ask

On the stairwell…

 

Leave a Reply

