Big Words, No Excuses

So I’ve just realized that I’ve spent the last 5ish years of my life slacking off academically. How do I know that? I’ve been attempting to read The Post-American World by Fareed Zakaria just for kicks. Why? Don’t ask! Long story 😛 But so far, what I’ve been getting is a frickin’ wake-up call. I don’t effin” understand half the references he’s talking about and there are big words that I have never heard of before!

Yes, it is ironic that the past 5 years in undergrad has left me unaware of many things I should be learning in school, especially in terms of global economics, history and current events. I can’t help it. Since I’ve been delusional in thinking that I’m one of the “smarter” kids in class, I never got the proper motivation to actually read more about the outside world. (I partially blame the Thai academic culture too!) I know! I know! I shouldn’t point fingers and that it has all been my fault that I’ve turned into such an ignoramus! So I have now taken it upon myself to relearn whatever it is I forgot and push myself to get back into the brain game.

Going back to the book, though many of the references are familiar, I couldn’t for the life of me, pinpoint their actual significance until after I google up the different events, terms, and yes, vocabulary! By chapter 2, I filled up 3/4 of a page when I list out everything I don’t know and remember! I am seeing glimpses of hope though that despite fact that I don’t know too many things, most of them are extremely familiar thanks to high school.

So yes, my ego has been bruised black and blue this past week! But as the saying goes, I’m brushing the shame off and moving on! I’m going to keep on reading and learning, writing and looking up new words, and educating myself so that I can better understand the world around me because seriously, as of now, I doubt school is going to help me much. So here’s to me. May good luck, hard work and God’s grace help me grow up!

Leave a Reply

