30 Days and that Language Issue…

One month has officially passed since my arrival and it’s been a whirlwind of a ride! I’ve been on planes, trains, buses, cars and motorbikes! (All I need now is a boat ride! and maybe a spaceship!) I’ve gone shopping, I’ve been broke and I’ve shopped some more! I’ve starved myself, but mostly because I know I would feast later on in the day! I have gone to the movies and a bar and visited museums and temples! I have attended classes in both Chinese and English and I have gone to different international churches. I have made friends and built relationships. This list is merely a short summary of my time here, but it doesn’t even sum up how much fun I’m having and I can’t believe that I’m leaving in 15 days!!!

Why am I counting, you ask? Asides from the fact that I’m going to see my family (specially my brother after 4 months) again, I’m near broke! If money isn’t an issue, I would probably beg to stay here for a few more months! 

However, it wasn’t until today that I realized I really need to learn the language. Case scenario: we went to a restaurant and despite the pictures, there is still a HUGE language barrier that I personally need to overcome. (I ended up double ordering someone else’s dish, so I paid twice than I expected). 

Yes, it has been a month and I don’t think my Chinese has improved that much, if it had at all. Though when I do listen intently to the local conversation around me, I have finally been able to pick up words and/or get the gist of what’s going on. But though it’s a difficult language, I strongly believe that I can do this! 

All I need however, is more time, which is something that I don’t really have. 

Leave a Reply

