The Woman who CANNOT do her make up…

So today I made an amazing, albeit sad, discovery about myself…

I CAN’T DO MAKE UP!!! I mean, seriously, I don’t know how!!! I’m normal young woman in her early 20’s, yet I just realized today that I was utterly lost when I looked into my friends’ make up kits! I mean I know how to put on lip gloss and an eye liner but I realized today, those are the only two “cosmetics” that I actually use!!! And I do have a small make up kit… somewhere, in another country… never bothered to pack them…

So yes, when my friends brought in their little kits for today’s cultural performance, I was amazed as to how much women spend on beauty products! There were different types of brushes and eye shadow stuff and other creams or foundation, I’m not even sure what half those things are called. It was like an art bag!!! And I must say, to do make up, it takes A LOT of artistic skills!

Because we were pressed for time, my friends suggested that I do my ‘basic’ make up… Well, I wasn’t even sure what that meant. I haven’t felt that helpless in a long (LONG) time! What I got was this:

"BEFORE"

And while I have no problem with that look, I knew that for a performance, that look was sorely lacking. I was too freaked out to add in even more just in case I overdo it and end up looking like a clown!

Thankfully, I have friends who came to my rescue!!! (Yes, it took 2 people to give that work a make over!) I must say, I didn’t look too shabby with the extra stuff on.

"AFTER"

I seriously wouldn’t have gotten THAT without my wonderful make up artists! 🙂

Alex was also one of today's cultural performers!

Piano did the finishing touches!

Lesson of the Day: Pick up some make up skills! I’d never know when I would ever need them!!! And cosmetic life-savers won’t always be there to help out in times of need!

Thought of the Day: Would I start wearing all that jazz on my face more frequently though? Most likely not… I can barely remember to put on my lip gloss and eye liner, I doubt I’ll remember to do that daily! That and it just seem WAY too much work! I’m just calculating what time I would have to do something decent to my looks and I don’t think it’s that worth giving up sleep time.

Don’t get me wrong. I do care about how I look… occasionally (though I’m sure that certain family members would beg to differ) However, I don’t feel comfortable about putting all these chemicals on my face that would merely continue to mask who I am. Sure, I know I have my flaws (please don’t count, it would waste you many hours), but I know that I’m beautiful despite it all. I guess you could call me one of those open book types. No, I ain’t mysterious AT ALL!!! Definitely complex and somewhat confusing, but not mysterious! Yes, I most likely have as many  insecurities as the next girl, but I know who I am. I know what I want in my life and I know my worth!

And I’m pretty happy being me and looking like:

THIS!!!

Leave a Reply

