Thoughts on a Christian rap song…

I was just cruising around youtube for some Christian music when I remember a few people recommend Lecrae. Now I’m not a huge fan of rap (ask my brother, he will assure you well), but then I remembered, Lacrae also does R&B (or so I heard). So I searched Lecrae and this was the first song I picked just because I figured it would have something to do with what I’m feeling right now. And what would you know, but the words of “Background” just worked deep down.

Now normally, I’m quite the drama-queen and maybe I also am a bit attention-seeking. I can’t help it! My pride and ego just like to let loose! Then this was when the first few lines of the song just pointed straight at me: “I know I miss my cues, know I forget my lines.” And for those who know me, this has happened way too often. I’m the type of person who would tend to just improvise the lines in life and try to grab the spotlight. I focus in on me, forgetting others, forgetting my purpose in life, forgetting God.

Time and time again, though I know I like to take lead in life, most days, like the song says, “I don’t want to take the lead, Cause I’m prone to make mistakes. All these folks that follow me gon’ end up in the wrong place.” Because “I know I’m dangerous when I trust myself, my vision blurred.” I know as a human being, I can never see the whole picture. And sure! I’m fairly smart and practical, but from what I know of myself and of life, I can never know everything. I can’t foretell the future and I can’t predict the actions of others and the course of nature. Decisions maybe made based on strong facts and stable probabilities in life, but that doesn’t guarantee life. Sure we make the best decisions that we possibly can, but as the song (and the Bible) states, “why gain the whole wide world,  if I’m just goin’ to loose my soul.”

So the rest of the lyrics just really work well as a prayer.

“I don’t need my name in lights. I don’t need a starring role.”

“It’s evident You run the show, so let me back down. You take the leading role, and I’ll play the background.”

“I’m sticking to Your script, and I’m reading all Your signs.”

“I know I’m safest when I’m in Your will and trust Your word.”

So really, what I really need for my life is just to trust God. Because this life isn’t about me, it’s about Him. Like when the hero of the story saves the day, God is the hero who holds the key to the story of my life.

*Lyrics are copied from: MetroLyrics.com

2 thoughts on “Thoughts on a Christian rap song…

  1. True, we tend to evaluate stuff based on style or genre instead of its content, sometimes just based on our preferences and little knowledge, Nice that you try to venture out of your box.

Leave a Reply

