Don’t sleep opportunity away…

As most of you know, I’m still rather decked out from my Easter adventures yesterday. When my Thai friends decided that they want to hit the beach today, I was rather reluctant. It has already been a busy morning, I really wanted to take a break and rest. 

The idea was, we would go on another one of our bus adventures and scourge to the unknown… So while my friend asked around for details and directions as to how to get to the beach, some of the Taiwanese students came up with the idea that they will just drive us there! While transportation was still discussed, I was debating with myself as to whether or not I should go. I was still feeling tired and I really wanted to sleep the afternoon away. I told my Thai friends to ask me again an hour before departure in which by then, I was still debating. It wasn’t until a friend’s “We’re going to be taking pictures” comment that I managed to drag my self out of bed. And boy I am glad I did!!!

We hit Anping Beach, which used to be Tainan’s old port to see the sunset. It was a very cloudy day that this was all we saw…

But we had tons of fun nonetheless! We had so much fun, we took pictures of our feet!

I stumbled through a different songs with my ukulele! 🙂

We even met a magician!!! Or illusionist! Or something… He was shooting for a show of sorts, so if you accidentally see us on some random media, it was probably because we were laughing so hard at each other that we caught his producer’s attention!

Unfortunately, his producer stopped us before we could take an actually good picture of the guy. He bent my coin!!! 

See, it’s my coin! He made me write my name on it! 🙂

I don’t know what kind of physics/chemistry theory he did with his hands on this, but for once, I’m very impressed!

We found a sad stray puppy on our way out the beach…

Now I’m not a dog-person, but isn’t that just heart-wrenching!!!?? I wanted to take it home!!!!!!!!!!! Or at least feed it! But it disappeared before I finished tying my ssekos… -_-;;;

So after the beach, we went on a food spree! First we hit 2 Sweet Jelly stands!

I wasn’t really into that, whatever that is… I know that it had green beans, but this on the other hand

SO GOOD!!!!

Then of course, they introduced us to a famous pudding shop in Taiwan:

Now, I wasn’t that into the pudding, but that tart = AMAZINGNESS!!!!(For those who are wondering, no I did NOT eat all 3!!! I shared one of the puddings and the tart with everyone in today’s expedition and I gave the other pudding to my roommates… so no! I did actually think about my diet (kind of) while I was having fun!)

But before we head back to the dorm, we stopped by a Beef-focused restaurant and we ended up sharing all of this!!!

And it was so GOOD!!! 

All in all, it’s been a super busy and somewhat (ok, very) tiring day! However, after thinking about it, no amount of sleep will ever make up for this fun day! Somehow, I felt like if actually decided to take on that longer nap (mind you, I took a half hour nap before we left), I would’ve missed out greatly. I think vague tidbits of this proverbs really got me moving:

How long will you lie there, you sluggard? 
   When will you get up from your sleep? 
A little sleep, a little slumber, 
   a little folding of the hands to rest— 
and poverty will come on you like a thief 
   and scarcity like an armed man

(Proverbs 6: 9-11) 

I wouldn’t have gone poor from an afternoon nap, but I would’ve missed out. And this is a lesson learned! From now on, I will do my best to put sleep second after whatever opportunities would come my way again! Because if I did, I would’ve missed something like this!

Leave a Reply

