Personal Lesson from an Asian classroom…

Early this morning, I had my first in-class lecture (in English, thank God!!!) and I realized something. Between Thailand and Taiwan, two separate countries, cultures and people groups, I’m just a rather oddball type of student, at least in an Asian setting…

Yes, to some, I might come off as a know-it-all (but really! I seriously don’t even know half the things that are going on in class). This is just merely because I ANSWER whatever questions the lecturer asks (at least the questions I know…), then awhile later I realized it just seem to be a class rule that no one answers the teacher, a rule the everyone knows… Everyone except Grace!!!

But seriously, I answer questions in hopes of following through the instructor’s initiation of classroom discussion. Because in my experience, class discussion is just about the best way to go about a lesson. And interacting with the instructor is probably one of the best way to show that you’re actually paying attention in class or you’re at least interested in the subject covered. Unfortunately, most of my peers (not only in Thailand, but here in Taiwan, as well) seem to disagree on that manner. 

Another thing as to why I answer the questions is: don’t people find the eerie quietness of the classroom just downright awkward? It’s so awkward, I can’t take it! That’s probably I main unconscious reason why I articulate. I can’t seem to handle dead silence for long periods of time, especially if it’s in a social environment. 

Granted, the material covered today was an interesting review from a different angle. I learned quite a few things worth while(even without the “discussion”). But seriously?! Am I the only one who does this? Answer the question when the instructor asks? 

It would be nice to know that I’m not alone…

Leave a Reply

