Dear Bacon,

Dear Bacon, 

I miss you! Why I gave you up for Lent, I constantly had to remind myself! I know I successfully fasted from fanfiction, Yakult and yes, even Chocolate in past Lenten seasons. But now I ask why I even bother doing this to myself. 

Different people fast for different reasons: some for a cause, others for self-fulfillment —all of which are good. But now, I ask myself why I’m doing what I’m doing this year. I remember giving up fanfiction and Yakult in hopes to get or achieve something. What they were, I don’t know. I fasted from chocolate because I wanted to prove to myself that I love God more than chocolate (it’s a pathetic reason, but hey! I’ve proven to myself that I can give up chocolate for God, albeit not happily and only for a certain period of time, but that’s a story for another day.)

But now, I’m in deep contemplation as to why I’m giving you up. I didn’t give you up for merit or requests. I heard a quote by Philip Yancey, “…there is nothing we can do to make God love us more…there is nothing we can do to make God love us less…”

It was then I realized that I’m fasting to remind myself to draw closer to God. Every time I stop myself from eating pork, beef, and ice cream, and reading cheesy romance novels, I remember God and pray that He will continue to bless my relationship with Him. I remember people, causes and troubles that I need to pray for. I remember to learn more about Him and love Him as my Lord and Savior. 

So Bacon, we must still be apart for a few more weeks. But I’m sure you’ll understand. Worry not. I know that in less than a month’s time, I will have you in my hands again. I will with you on Easter. 

So until then, 

Grace

Leave a Reply

