Julia Quinn…

So I guess I should start off with as to why I love JQ.

Julia Quinn is a historical romance writer, best known for her Bridgerton series. I’m not done with that series yet, but I believe I’ve read 12 out of 24 of her current works (novellas included). Her books are definitely lighter compared to the other romance writers I know. But I guess that’s why I love them! She writes romance, as in the love story between two people.

As it is, Ms. Quinn’s books provide the fun escape I would need during the stress of exams and the other obstacles of life. Ms. Quinn’s books are entertaining, witty and realistic. Her characters are ones that a reader can relate to. The values that she portrays in her books are generally and personally agreeable.

My favorite part of JQ is that she seems to be a believer of “Happily-Ever-After.” And in my experience, I don’t meet a lot of those nowadays, as trends of divorce and infidelity break out like the plague.

So yes, I read her books because I know I’m guaranteed a happily-ever-after. I know, I’m probably just naive. But hey, aren’t there overly used cliches that goes along the lines of “don’t stop believing” and “fight for the things that you believe in”?

My favorite JQ books so far would be (#1 has yet to be toppled from its rank since I started reading her stuff)

  1. How to Marry a Marquis
  2. Romancing Mr. Bridgerton
  3. Ten Things I Love about You
  4. The Viscount Who Loved Me
  5. The Lost Duke of Wyndham

Most JQ books are parts of a series, but the best part is: each book can stand alone! You can start from which ever synopsis suits you best! If I remember it correctly, I read the 3rd book of the Bridgerton series first, then the 4th, then the 2nd… no, I still haven’t even read the first yet! (Which is The Duke and I, in case anyone wants to know ^_^) 

For a non-JQ reader who’s looking for recommendations, I suggest she/he(though I doubt there are alot of “he” romance readers, NOT saying that there aren’t either!!) starts with To Catch an Heiress, which is the book that goes together How to Marry a Marquis. (Which is, I should remind you, in my opinion, the BEST JQ BOOK EVER! It’s even on my mental Top 5 Favorite Romance Novels Ever List!!!)

So yes, as Ms. Quinn continues to write Happily-Ever-Afters, you can rest assure that I’ll merely be a bus ride away from the bookstore. Her site: www.juliaquinn.com  provides readers the complete lists of her books, excerpts and updates as to when her next goodies are coming up! Hope you can enjoy her works as much as I do! Happy reading!

Leave a Reply

